There Must Be A Unique And Engaging Way To Say “Please Comment On This Post!” (But seriously, I need your input)

I need you guys to give me some input.

Recently, I’ve started writing again.  If you read Sorry For The Interruption, you will know why.  Anyways, I’ve also been throwing some book ideas around.

I’ve always wanted to write a book.  Whether it was about my story, or something fictional that included rape and abuse, or just a book to reach others who may be struggling. I have spent so much time and energy trying to figure out the perfect book subject.

They say write what you know.  Well, I know rape.  And abuse.  And victims of both.  But, I’m no counselor, and I wouldn’t be able to write a credible self-help book.

So, this is where you come in.  This morning, I had an idea.  I realized all of my posts, and the posts of others, that were the most penetrating to readers were the ones where feelings were put into understandable sentences.

A sentence where a victim could show the article to a friend and say, “See, this is what I’m feeling” in the way someone else could understand.  Posts like A Living SuicideI Hate That I’m Not Alone, etc.

My question is this:  As a survivor, would a book exposing how you feel be of interest to you?  Just what goes on inside your head as you process and work through things?  Not a, “Here’s How To Fix Yourself” or “And They All Lived Happily Ever After”, just a brutally honest portrayal of the feelings we feel.

I’m thinking it may help reach those who feel alone.  To know they aren’t crazy, and that what they are feeling is actually normal.  I am hoping it would also help victims and survivors understand themselves more, and find a deeper healing.  Also, it may even be good for the person who has a loved one who has been raped or abused.  At least in understanding them and knowing how to be a true, supportive person in their life.

And my final question: Do you think I could even do this book justice? If you’ve read through my posts, I hope you could at least see that I have a heart for this.  But I need to know if you would trust me to write on your behalf, and put your thoughts and feelings into words for the world to hear.  Could I be the messenger for that?  I’m not sure, which is why I need input.

So, there we have it.  Would that be beneficial?  And could I write it?  Please help me.  I want so badly to reach out to women, and I feel as though this may be one way to do it.  I still have many, many other books in the works, but this one just really seems to call to me for some reason.

Anyways.  I’m a fan of brutally honest feedback.  I know some comments may be “If that’s what you want, go for it” and that’s encouraging, but I would rather like someone to give critical advice or opinions.

So, have at it.  And don’t be shy if you’re new.  There’s people joining every day, so if this is the first post you read, I will shamelessly include a plug here about reading the rest of the articles on this blog.  Hope to hear from you!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Paul Lamb says:

    I have clinical depression (or whatever it is called this week). I read a lot of blogs that deal with depression, and the posts I like best are the ones where I recognize the other person’s symptoms or problems or grief or struggles as similar to mine. You are right; it is good to find we are not alone in coping with our mental health issues.

    I think, however, you should not necessarily try to write about the universality of the struggle with your issues. Instead, you should write about YOUR struggle with your issues. Let the reader identify with the parts that fit. The reader will recognize parts and not recognize other parts. YOUR story is sufficient. And it will become “universal” in whatever ways each reader connects with it.

    Good luck.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I think you made a good point. I’ve spoken to many victims and we all have so much in common. I would hope that my story would relate to them in some way. But you do think it would be beneficial?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Paul Lamb says:

        Likely it would be beneficial to many, and perhaps some therapists would even suggest it to patients for insight. And editor or agent or publisher would know best.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Foghorn The IKonoclast says:

    It is hard for me to trust. Every noise causes severe anxiety. We need our own retreats where phobias and OCDs can be done to facilitate bonds. Ways of getting people to listen. I hate abusive types. But yes, a chaperone professional who understands and guides people.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

