See Her

I read this post a week ago, and it had an incredible affect on me. So much so, that I had to take some time off from this site.

I actually felt like a person again. Not just a victim or survivor trying to navigate the world. Or someone trying to make the best out of a bad situation. An actual person. No strings attached.

I highly encourage you to read this post, and get in touch with the author. He has been dedicating some time to helping victims in his church find healing. And he has a true heart for seeing people become whole again.

So with a huge thanks to the author, I am going to post this here, and I highly encourage you to read it!

DanSwaningsonwordsandwit

woman-with-tear

There is an amazing and even startling story in the gospel of Luke (chapter 7:36-50) about a “Sinful Woman” most likely even a prostitute, who crashes a dinner party. She is desperate to find and somehow thank the man who had made her feel human again for the first time in as long as she could remember, the carpenter from Nazareth who was passing through her town.

She brings along her only possession worth anything, a bottle of perfume she had saved up  her illicitly earned money for, but when she arrives she doesn’t know what to do. Everyone is staring and whispering, she doesn’t care, here he is, she starts to sob. Her tears are falling on his feet as he reclines at the table so she does the unthinkable, she gets down and wipes his grimy feet with her own hair and kisses them. —Scandalous.

View original post 1,069 more words

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you Sarah. You had me worried- you went silent for a while. I am so glad you were encouraged by this, that is why I do this. If I may be so bold as to encourage your readers to go to hopechapelredlodge.com and click the “Written sermons” link, you will find the entire message that this blog was based on. God bless you all, there are no victims in the Kingdom of God, only victors. God loves you, and I love you, you are all important and precious in his sight. We are starting a support group in our church for those who have been victimized and are going to work alongside of an organization in our little town that does the same: DSVS. This issue has been mishandled by most of the church for far too long, let’s fix that. My contact info can be found on our website as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is wonderful information! Yes, sorry I went silent. Between this site and the loss of my sister recently, I’ve had many people in my life dealing with this feeling of emptiness. And like the church would ban them if they came clean about the aftermath of assault, like addictions and hyper-sexuality. So this post was just perfectly timed, and gave me a renewed strength to keep writing. I’m so happy to hear about your ministry! I will be reading more tonight.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just realized I called you Sarah, Sydney. Apologies. Just read your latest blog. Good stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s all good. I knew what you meant. And thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

